Hopdoddy Burger Bar

One tidbit you might not know about me… I absolutely LOVE having visitors.  Hostess to the core, I love having friends and family come into town almost as much as I love feeding them (and you KNOW I love feeding people!). 🙂

So a few months ago, when J, one of my absolute favorite females in the whole wide world asked if she could make a trek down to Dallas for a weekend, I was beyond thrilled.

wpid-img_20140324_161747.jpg

J came to visit towards the end of March, and for a whole weekend, I was the happiest of all campers.  Why?  Well, as I mentioned above, J is pretty awesome, but beyond that, she enjoys food, cooking, and dining adventures as much as I do.  So when we get together, we pretty much just EAT.  It’s fabulous.

wpid-img_20140324_111630.jpgWe brunched at my favorite Dallas brunch spot, Oddfellows, made homemade pizza, and attempted sweet potato gnocchi.

But I think possibly the highlight of our foodie adventures was on Saturday, when I took her to nosh on my absolute favorite burger joint in this glorious meat-enthused city: Hopdoddy Burger Bar.

Hopdoddy’s point of difference is in the pure quality of every ingredient they use.  From their burgers, fries, and milkshakes, to their beers and cocktails; everything is fresh and hand-crafted, with a focus on all-natural.  And you can taste this quality with every bite.  Seriously.

P1070261

Yeah.  It tastes as good as it looks.

Being slightly worn-down from the night before (read: hungover), we skipped on the beers, though the Texas-only craft selection goes GREAT with the meaty goodness of your meal. 🙂

Instead, we decided to opt for the ultimate indulgence – a Nutella and Chocolate Pretzel milkshake…

P1070248

I don’t think I need to tell you how good this shake is… I mean, Nutella? YUM!  Pretzels? Yes, please!  Throw in some more chocolate and ice cream and top it off with whipped cream and some crunchy chocolate-pretzel-goodies?  Ohhhh yess.

We KILLED the thing.  If we could have gotten our faces properly into that cup, we probably would have licked it clean.

Thankfully, for our dignity and for the sake of our fellow diners, we could not, so we made do with a couple of spoons.  Le sighhh.

In the middle of enjoying that fantastic milkshake, fries were delivered along with our burgers.

P1070254

Now, normally, if I’m going to go for a milkshake, I’ll skip the fries.  Because, you know, I try to be healthy…ish.  But if you’re going to indulge at Hopdoddy, don’t skimp on the fries. I’m telling you.

Hopdoddy offers freshly cut Kennebec fries that are topped with Parmesan and Truffle oil.  THEN they serve it with an amazing, garlicy truffle aioli.  It is FAB.  And so are the fries.  I cannot keep my hands out of that basket when they’re in front of me!

For our mains, J and I decided to try out two different burgers.  J went for the ever-amazing “Classic Burger,” polishing her order off with the additions of grass-fed beef (always a good call), and fresh sliced avocado (also a good call!).
P1070250

Now, the buns are worth mentioning here.  Hopdoddy bakes their egg buns from scratch… not once but TWICE daily.  So they’re pretty much as fresh as you can get.  And, you can even pick up a pack of 8 buns to take home.  Amazing, right?

I was craving bison (I LOVE bison), so I went for the “Buffalo Bill,” which is topped off with blue cheese, hot sauce, Applewood-smoked bacon, and Hopdoddy’s “sassy sauce.”  Oh, and I decided to add a fried egg on top.  Just to further prove that I’m getting over my irrational fear of eggs.P1070260

Check out that bad boy!  So so SO good.

If you live in Dallas and haven’t made it to Hopdoddy yet, it’s well worth a trip!  It’s certainly not a cheap burger outing, but when you consider the quality of both the ingredients and the taste, I would argue it’s worth every penny!

AND if you live near Uptown, you’ll soon be able to WALK to this joint, as Hopdoddy is opening up a new location right on McKinney! WOOT!  (This can’t possibly be good for my waistline… but I’ll worry about that later!) 🙂

If you don’t live in Dallas, the next time you’re in town, you should absolutely force your host/hostess to take you here.  You won’t regret it!

Bon appétit!

-G

 

One thought on “Hopdoddy Burger Bar

  1. Pingback: Driftwood Date | recetterie

Leave a Reply

