Poached Egg Sammies

You might not believe it, but I used to HATE eggs.  Yeah, I know.  Ridiculous.  Who DOESN’T like eggs?!  But it’s true; not that long ago, I absolutely despised them.

DSC02277

I’m not even sure when it happened… or how, for that matter. It just kinda made my stomach churn in funny ways, one day, to think about eating eggs.  I’m not sure if I just couldn’t handle the texture, or if I was simply being a rebellious child, but at one point in my childhood, I flat out revoked all eggs from my diet.

My family would probably be shocked to hear that I’ve recently rediscovered this wondrous food, and my fondness for eggs has started to (re)grow.  Now, eggs are pretty much a weekly ritual around here.

Honestly, it was this sandwich that got me.DSC02266

A few months ago, I stumbled upon this egg sandwich recipe that looked so good, I was confident it would be THE thing to coax me back into an egg lover.  And it didn’t just coax.  It hooked me.  It quickly became a weekend favorite at our house, and now we scarcely go a weekend without making these sammies.  How’s that for a comeback?!

I put my own little twist on the original recipe, as I don’t tend to keep arugula on-hand in my fridge, but I DO keep cheese around (always.), and I tend to have prosciutto as well.  We have had this sandwich with any number of cheeses, but Manchego is probably my all-time favorite.

DSC02267

And now, my mantra when it comes to eggs?  The runnier the better! 🙂

Important note: this sandwich is best served with an extra little nob of bread, to help sop up all the yummy, runny, yolky-goodness.

Bon appétit!

-G

Poached Egg and Prosciutto Sammies

Adapted from Verses from my Kitchen

Makes 2 sandwiches

  • 4 slices of thick multigrain bread
  • 4 fresh, cold eggs
  • 2 tbsp white vinegar
  • 2-3 slices of prosciutto
  • Several slices of Manchego cheese
  • Drizzle of olive oil
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Start by heating a medium pot of water on medium high heat, with 2 tbsp white vinegar, bringing to a simmer.  While you wait, crack ONE egg into a small bowl or ramekin.  Very carefully, drop the egg into the water.  Repeat with egg number two, and let eggs cook for about 2-3 minutes (or longer if you want firmer, less runny centers).

While your eggs are cooking, start toasting your bread.  In a medium pan, fry up your prosciutto until the slices are lightly browned and crispy.

When the eggs are done, with a slotted spoon or spatula, remove eggs one at a time from water and place on a paper towel to get rid of excess water.  Repeat with second set of eggs, adding into water one at a time.

Plate your toasted bread, and stack cheese, then prosciutto, then eggs on top.  Drizzle some olive oil over top of eggs and sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.

Note:  If you’ve never poached eggs before and are intimidated by the task (as I certainly was…), I recently stumbled upon these tips and tricks for “perfect poached eggs,” which I think might be a useful reference!  🙂

Leave a Reply

