Foodies in France – la première partie

It has been FAR too long since my last post.  The past several months have been a whirlwind – moving into a new place, settling into a new(ish) job, lots of travel, and cakes!  (More to come on the cakes later 🙂 ) With all of that going on, this blog simply fell lower on the priority list.  Now that I’m finally feeling a bit more settled in my job and my new home, Recetterie can climb on right back up towards the top again.

To make up for my absence, I have something wonderful to share with you… a little taste of my absolute favorite city.

DSC01155

A city that is known for its exceptional culinary status; that offers delicacies such as snails and frog legs; that oozes pastries and goodies that one dreams about… any guesses?

DSC01234

Yep, you guessed it! PARIS! 🙂DSC01268

Sometime in August, le manfriend came home one day and shared the best news EVER.  He had been asked to go to Paris for work.  Of course I was 100% on board with this trip… provided I got to go!  And so we went – AG traveled over there on business, and just as he was wrapping up his meetings, I walked off the plane with a huge smile on my face & trusty Longchamp on my shoulder. 🙂

We explored and ate our way through the city of light for about a week, and it was so good to be back.  I was thrilled to speak french, drink café crèmes, and wander around the rues, soaking in the Parisian light.  It was a glorious week.

DSC01202


DSC01195If you are planning or dreaming of a trip to Paris, there are a few spots that I highly recommend making pit-stops for both the food and the experience.  I make sure to visit my favorite Paris eateries just about every time I go.

One of these spots is Café Angelina.  La Maison Angelina is a tea room located on the posh Rue de Rivoli, just a hop-skip across the street from the infamous Louvre.  It has been there since 1903, and has fed several style icons, including Audrey Hepburn and Coco Chanel.  You KNOW if they frequented Angelina, it has to be good!

Angelina’s is most famous for it’s rich, decadent, and heavenly Chocolat Chaud à l’Ancienne.  If you are a fan of chocolate, sweets, and all that is good in life, you absolutely must try this hot chocolate.

DSC01378

I’d been raving about Angelina’s hot chocolate probably for months before taking AG here, and so I’m sure he was probably sick of hearing about what I’d consider to be “the best thing in a cup.”  One sip out of that beautiful white cup, though, and I watched as AG gave a slow nod of the head and uttered: “Oh man, that might be the best thing I’ve ever tasted.”  Mission accomplished!

While you’re there, you might as well pair your hot chocolate with one of the extravagant and delicious desserts.

DSC01370 DSC01368

We settled on a tower of sorbet, “Le Trianon.”

DSC01383

Once you’ve sipped the last drop of your hot chocolate, take advantage of the sugar rush, and take a stroll through Tuileries, which is conveniently right across the street!

DSC01206You can wander through the gardens all the way over to the beautiful and expansive Louvre.DSC01234 DSC01232

 

If you get a chance to visit Paris, I hope you get to enjoy a big cup of Chocolat Chaud!

Gros Bisous! xx

G

One thought on “Foodies in France – la première partie

  1. Pingback: Rise No. 1 | recetterie

Leave a Reply

