Cake Party

I have a new obsession…

All Cakes

Cake!

I mean really, who doesn’t love taking a big bite of fluffy, fluffy cake topped with sweet creamy frosting?!  No one I know!

This obsession is one reason why I’ve been slightly MIA lately – sincere apologies!  This new cake-baking obsession may have temporarily distracted me from blogging, but I’m back!  And I think you’ll enjoy what I have to share with you today.  🙂

A few weeks back I threw a cake party.  No, not a keg party, a CAKE party.  There was no keg present at the party, although there was plenty of drinking and general merriment!  And of course, lots of cake.

Party

So, what’s a cake party, you ask?  Well, a cake party is something I came up with in a desire to work on my cake-baking skills.  While I would certainly do my best to consume the finished product all by my lonesome, I thought it would better to have a test audience.  Guinea pigs, you might call them, to help me try out new recipes, and get several opinions of the results.

So, six days in advance, I started prepping for the party.  I’d already decided what cakes I wanted to make, thanks to ideas I’d compiled from Pinterest and some of my favorite blogs. I combined four cakes that I was dying to try with a few frosting recipes I found and baked up a storm!  My kitchen was a perpetual disaster for six days straight, but I had a blast. 🙂

Cherry

The first cake I wanted to make was courtesy of one of my favorite baking blogs – Sprinklebakes.  This beautiful treat is a cherry cake with a Swiss Meringue Buttercream.  I was dying to try this Cherry cake after falling for the color combination – the pink of the cherry cake combined with the blue frosting captivated me.  Don’t you just love that?!

Cherry cake cut

The next cake I wanted to try was a combination I came up with – I stumbled upon an Orange cake recipe and it looked so light and delicious, so I decided to pair it with the same Swiss Meringue Buttercream as the Cherry cake.

Orange Cake

This might have been my personal favorite of the night – I loved how the fruity cake paired with the Swiss Meringue.

Orange cake cut

As you can see – no one else liked this cake either! 😉

For the third cake, I knew I had to do a chocolate cake.  I mean, it wouldn’t be a cake party without chocolate cake.  It was a necessity.  So for this recipe, I looked to one of my other favorite bloggers, Naomi of Bakers Royale.  She has a chocolate cake recipe that she claims to be the “best ever,” and let me tell you – it did not disappoint!  I also stumbled upon a Sea Salt Caramel Buttercream frosting recently and knew that I had to try this with the chocolate cake.

Chocolate Bailey's cake

While Naomi used cassis in her cake, I wasn’t so sure how that would pair with the sea salt caramel, so I substituted Bailey’s Irish Cream.  Boy oh boy, was that a yummy cake!  It wound up being the group favorite, and was the ONLY cake we actually finished that night.

Chocolate cake cut

Finally, for my fourth creation, I was dying to try a Lemon Poppyseed cake.  I found a good recipe and then went on a search for a frosting to pair it with.  After extensive browsing, I found a Blueberry Cream Cheese frosting recipe that sounded like it would be amazing with the Lemon Poppyseed, so I gave it a go!

Lemon Poppyseed

I love how this cake turned out – the colors and the decorations turned out better than I could have anticipated.  The cake itself was also delicious, though perhaps a little heavy for my taste.  It also took four and a half hours to complete JUST the cake portion (no frosting!), so I don’t know how often I will make this one.  However, it was delicious and was AG’s favorite of the night – he’s already requested it for his birthday cake! 😉

Lemon cake cut

After consuming some delicious beverages and sampling each of the cakes, our guests settled down to card games and dominoes.  We had a grand time, and I think it’s safe to say the party was a success. I am planning to make it an annual event, partially to give me an opportunity to try out more new recipes, but also just because we had so much fun!

So thanks to all my guinea pigs – it was a pleasure to share this new obsession of mine with you.  I couldn’t have asked for a better test audience – your tastebuds and opinions were much appreciated!  Until the next Cake Party. 🙂

And for all you who couldn’t be here with us to enjoy delicious cake, look for some recipes to pop up on here in the near future.  I have a bit more practicing to do, but I’ll be sharing some new cake creations, as well as plenty tips and tricks, so stay tuned.

Bon appétit!

-G

**Photos above are courtesy of BKCphoto, who took the majority of the photos for the night, and they turned out wonderfully!  The first two photos shared, however, are courtesy of AG, my partner-in-party-planning.  🙂

3 thoughts on “Cake Party

  1. Hi, your third cake looks amazing, could you please give us the sea salt caramel buttercream frosting receipe? Thank you so much!

    • Of course! The recipe for the Sea Salt Caramel Buttercream can be found here.
      FYI, the chocolate cake on the link is not the cake I used with this frosting. I will be posting the recipe for the chocolate cake in the near future, though, so look for it on Recetterie soon!

Leave a Reply

