Gorgonzola, Pineapple, and Prosciutto Salad

As someone who believes in the 80/20 rule (80% healthy eating, 20% unhealthy), I try to keep my lunches made primarily of veggies; partly because I want to eat healthy, but mostly because I feel less guilty when I splurge a bit more for dinner. 🙂  I therefore find myself frequently eating salads for my mid-day meal, but it doesn’t take long to get bored of munching on a plate of foliage. So, I’m always looking for ways to perk up my greens.

I can definitely get myself in a salad rut, but this one always manages to break me out of greenery ennui.  It is both punchy and fresh, and I cannot help but to get excited about my lunch when I know this mélange is waiting for me in the fridge.

This salad is inspired by one that the manfriend and I had once at an Italian restaurant in Cincinnati.  Primavista is a restaurant with a view in this rivertown; one that I recommend checking out if you’re ever in the ‘Nati. I’ve only eaten there once, but I’ve never forgotten the green plate from this Cincinnati staple.

Now, you’ll want to make sure you get a solid combo-bite when you munch on this insalata.  Take a few pieces of arugula, a solid slice of prosciutto, a chunk of pineapple, a bite of creamy gorgonzola, followed by a sprinkling of chopped walnut, and you will lose yourself in a bite of contrasting flavors.  Mmm… I’m getting hungry just typing this.

Hope you have a happy and healthy Saturday!

Bon appétit!

-G

Gorgonzola, Pineapple and Prosciutto Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette 

(Recipe adapted from Primavista restaurant)

Makes 2 large servings.

– 5 cups mixed greens (I like to combine arugula and spring mix greens)

– 1 cup fresh pineapple cubes

– 3 slices of prosciutto (torn up into smaller pieces)

– 1/4 cup gorgonzola

– 1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, toss with vinaigrette and enjoy!

Balsamic Vinaigrette

(Adapted from Emeril Lagasse’s Simple Balasmic Vinaigrette)

– 1/2 cup olive oil

– 1/4 cup walnut oil

– 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

– 2 cloves of garlic, minced

– pinch of salt and pepper to taste

Place all ingredients in a screw-top or Mason jar and shake to combine.

2 thoughts on “Gorgonzola, Pineapple, and Prosciutto Salad

Leave a Reply

